Accessibility Tools

  • Content scaling 100%
  • Font size 100%
  • Line height 100%
  • Letter spacing 100%

Equality Delivery System

The EDS was commissioned by the national Equality and Diversity Council in 2010 and launched in July 2011.  It is system that helps NHS organisations improve the services they provide for their local communities and provide better working environments, free of discrimination, for those who work in the NHS, while meeting the requirements of the Equality Act 2010.  The EDS was developed by the NHS, for the NHS. The original EDS was refreshed following evaluation and engagement in November 2013 and became known as EDS2.

Central to the Equality Delivery System is a set of 18 outcomes aligned to four goals. These outcomes focus on the issues of most concern to patients, carers, communities, NHS staff and Boards. The four goals are:

  • Inclusive leadership at all levels
  • Empowered, engaged & well-supported staff
  • Improved patient access and experience
  • Better health outcomes for all

It is against these goals and outcomes that NHS organisations are required to assess and grade performance. The Equality Delivery System grades are set out below:

  • Excelling
  • Achieving
  • Developing
  • Undeveloped

A national review and evaluation of EDS2 is currently being undertaken, this page will be updated to reflect any changes implemented.

The CCG will undertake an assessment of performance against the updated EDS and use the findings to assist in setting equality objectives.

Further information from NHS England on EDS is available here.


Further information

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.