Accessibility Tools

  • Content scaling 100%
  • Font size 100%
  • Line height 100%
  • Letter spacing 100%

NHS Workforce Disability Equality Standard

The NHS Workforce Disability Equality Standard (WDES) is designed to improve workplace experience and career opportunities for Disabled people working, or seeking employment, in the NHS.

This focus is important because research shows that a motivated, included and valued workforce helps to deliver high quality patient care, increased patient satisfaction and improved patient safety.

WDES is a set of ten specific measures (metrics) that will enable NHS organisations to compare the experiences of Disabled and non-disabled staff.  This information will then be used by the organisation to develop a local action plan and enable them to demonstrate progress against the indicators of disability equality.

WDES was implemented on 1 April 2019 and has initially been restricted to NHS Trusts and Foundation Trusts for the first two years of implementation.

Whilst CCGs are not required to implement the WDES (as they are too small an employer) as a Commissioner they do have a role to undertake.  The CCG seeks assurance from providers that this standard has been implemented, data and reports are published and progress is being made.

Further information on the WDES is available on the NHS England webpages here.

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.